FreeTrack Forum

Welcome, you're not connected. ( Log in - Register )

RSS >  Need Help With Set Up
spirittoo #1 26/02/2015 - 18h40

Class : Apprenti
Registered on : 24/02/2015

Off line

Hello  :)  ... I'm a complete newbie and I have been trying to get freetrack to work for me ... I have checked out a couple of help threads here and here

I connect the IR Led's just like the picture.  I don't see any lights with my eyes but I do see that there are 3 white dots in the screen with the cam on.

Here is a list of my parts
Battery case

Resistors

IR LED's

Web cam

Now question about the cam ... in the one guide the guy stated that the IR filter had to be removed.  I opened the cam and saw small screws that looked like it was holding down the eye, but when I removed them the part would not lift off so I could see if there was an IR filter.

I didn't want to break it so the best I could do was put an old floppy disk film over the eye.  Will it help or no ... if the IR filter has to be removed how would I get to it.  It looks like some resistors are solder preventing the eye in it's small box to be lifted up.

At first I could not get any movement out of the skull, but I'm getting spotty reactions after looking at the help threads.  I didn't understand about the adjusting so I used the setting in the guide.

There is a problem with the software minimising while I am working on it.  I have to go into the system tray and keep restoring it.  It this normal?

In the curve part I had pretty much straight line after going by the adjustments I saw. :unsure:

After making those adjustments the skull is looking straight down.

I moved the threshold to where I can see distorted white dots that the best I can get.  The skull movement is very sporatic and doesn't correspond with my head movements.

Okay so do I have the right parts?  Is there a problem there?  What can I do the get the skull to move with my head?   :snif: